Posted by: A.R. Cherian | October 6, 2010

The Long Drive is Over!

Ann and I are back in New York. We actually arrived to our home in Yonkers, NY on August 20th but I haven’t been able to blog till now since I had a couple of big functions to plan/attend and then unpack and get my life back in order. We left Reno on July 28th. We spent 24 days on the road. We covered 22 states. We drove 6,502 miles. We enjoyed every minute of it.

We both love to travel, drive, and take photographs so it was a trip of a lifetime for us. We drove to Reno for me to attend UNR two years ago but we had taken a northern route via I-80 and I-90. This time we took a more southern route in order to visit some family in Oklahoma, Texas, and Atlanta.

As with any other endeavor in life you end up learning a lot of new things about you and your environment. Some of the things I learned:

  1. Sometimes you have to take a risk and go for it. We had never driven on US 50 through the Nevada desert – the “loneliest highway in America” – and I was worried if we should with a fully-loaded car and only the two of us. I was well educated on what the trip entailed, so it turned out to be not a big deal and one of the best experiences of our life. Would not have been so if I had chickened out.
  2. You may meet new and wonderful people in the most mundane of places. One experience was being invited to sit in on the daily conversation meeting with a group of old-timers at the only Dunkin Donuts coffee shop in Albuquerque, NM. They and the manager made us feel like we were old friends.
  3. Always a good idea to plan ahead. We always had a destination city that we tried to reach by 7 or 8pm everyday and tried to book a hotel room there ahead of time.
  4. Expect the unexpected. We got a big crack on our windshield from a rock in Moab, UT and got into a fender-bender in Denver which delayed us another 3 days while we got our car repaired.
  5. Hotel fire evacuations at midnight are never a fun thing. Never a good idea to keep your customers in the dark as to what happened either.
  6. I am not as good a driver as I thought. Good thing for my hubris.
  7. I love New Mexican cuisine. We ate at some amazing restaurants in Chimayo, Santa Fe, Albuquerque, and Las Cruces.
  8. We both increased our love of America’s National Parks. We stopped at Arches, Canyonlands, Rocky Mountain, White Sands, and Great Smoky Mountains national parks on this trip.
  9. You have to compromise and learn to listen to your spouse. I learned this from spending 24 hours x 24 days not being away from my wife on this trip.
  10. In some things, my wife is more brave than I am!
  11. America is such a beautiful country
  12. God is there. We both experienced Him in new ways on this trip and this trip strengthened our relationship with Jesus Christ.

Stay tuned for pictures of the highlights from our trip. I have them posted on Facebook already and will have them imported into WordPress soon.

Responses

  1. That is such a long drive, you must have been knackered! I write about cars for a living, but even that would be too much for me!

    Feel free to add my blog to your blogroll is you like it!

  2. It was an exciting drive and a trip of a lifetime. Thanks for writing and don’t stop traveling. You’ll never regret it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

